My Top 5: Songs this week.

I’ve had a handful of incredible songs playing on repeat this week and they’re definitely worth sharing. A bit of folk, a little pop, bit of rock & a hint of country. All great. I’m not claiming to have ‘discovered’ these bands and none of these songs are new but they are such happy, catchy songs – it’s worth checking them out. So, I give you, this weeks Top 5 tunes:

1. Rend Collective – My Lighthouse

This song is so catchy. Hand-clappy and foot-stompy – it’s entirely impossible not to start dancing to it. Undeniably folk. The lyrics are really powerful too – encouraging and full of praise. I think I shall print out one of these stunning graphics of the lyrics (Pinterest, you beauty) and stick it on my wall as a reminder.

2. Unspoken – Start a Fire

I love having this stuck in my head – it’s such a great reminder of what we should be asking for. (And so catchy!) What better to be constantly humming than these lyrics:

Start a fire in my soul

Fan the flame and make it grow
So there’s no doubt or denying
Let it burn so brightly
That everyone around can see
That it’s You, that it’s You that we need
Start a fire in me

3. Colton Dixon – More of you

I stumbled across this song completely by accident, via another video on Youtube and loved it. Immediately bought the song on Itunes. Though the style is different, the song is pretty rad. Loving the story-telling aspect of his music too… Apparently he was a on American Idol a couple years back – seems like a nice dude.

4. NEEDTOBREATHE – Keep Your Eyes Open

NEEDTOBREATHE (yes, all capitals) is one of my favourite bands. The singer has such a unique voice and sound. I have some of their albums and find myself constantly switching between favourites because they are all that good. This was the first song of theirs that I loved, it is just so cool.

Also, check this one out.

5. The Hummons – Make It Love

This was an 8tracks discovery – this song is seriously special. Kind words, great message, beautiful voice – what a combination.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

